Victorious and Humble

Today’s Reading – Zechariah 9-10

Rejoice, O people of Zion! Shout in triumph, O people of Jerusalem! Look, your king is coming to you. He is righteous and victorious, yet he is humble, riding on a donkey— riding on a donkey’s colt. (Zechariah 9:9 NLT)

Zechariah told of Jesus’ coming and riding on a donkey. We know from the gospels that Jesus entered Jerusalem on a donkey. The people hailed Him as king yet riding on a donkey was not a symbol of victory. Righteousness and victory do not necessarily go with humility.

Application to me – Am I humble when my righteousness exceeds those around me in my eyes? When I am victorious in something, is my first thought of humility? I can learn a lot from the image of Christ that Zechariah describes.

Warren Weeks – December 26, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

