The Flying Scroll

Today’s Reading – Zechariah 5-6

I looked up again and saw a scroll flying through the air. “What do you see?” the angel asked. “I see a flying scroll,” I replied. “It appears to be about 30 feet long and 15 feet wide. ” Then he said to me, “This scroll contains the curse that is going out over the entire land. One side of the scroll says that those who steal will be banished from the land; the other side says that those who swear falsely will be banished from the land. And this is what the Lord of Heaven’s Armies says: I am sending this curse into the house of every thief and into the house of everyone who swears falsely using my name. And my curse will remain in that house and completely destroy it—even its timbers and stones.” (Zechariah 5:1-4 NLT)

Zechariah saw some crazy stuff. Flying scroll, woman in a basket and the four chariots. Those four horses seem to show up a lot in Scripture. The flying scroll shows how seriously God takes stealing and lying.

Application to me – Can God trust me with a vision? The prophets were ordinary guys but followed God so closely that they had a special relationship with Him that they could be trusted with visions. I want to be close to God so He can trust me to proclaim His powerful message and be true to His calling on my life.

Warren Weeks – December 24, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

