The Source of the Light

Today’s Reading – Zechariah 3-4

And I answered and spake to the angel that talked with me, saying, What are these, my lord? Then the angel that talked with me answered and said unto me, Knowest thou not what these are? And I said, No, my lord. Then he answered and spake unto me, saying, This is the word of Jehovah unto Zerubbabel, saying, Not by might, nor by power, but by my Spirit, saith Jehovah of hosts. (Zechariah 4:4-6 ASV)

Zechariah sees a vision of a lamp stand with two olive trees beside it. He asks what the trees were. The angel’s reply was that they were the Spirit of God. The trees represented the source of the light because they produced the oil for the lamps. It wasn’t might or power that produced the light but the Spirit of God.

Application to me – What is the source of light in my life? What guides my steps each day? Is it the light that I can produce or God’s light that guides me?

Warren Weeks – December 23, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

