Every Tub Sits On Its Own Feet

Today’s Reading – Zephaniah 1-2

And herds shall lie down in the midst of her, all the beasts of the nations: both the pelican and the porcupine shall lodge in the capitals thereof; their voice shall sing in the windows; desolation shall be in the thresholds: for he hath laid bare the cedar-work. This is the joyous city that dwelt carelessly, that said in her heart, I am, and there is none besides me: how is she become a desolation, a place for beasts to lie down in! every one that passeth by her shall hiss, and wag his hand. (Zephaniah 2:14, 15 ASV)

“Every tub sits on its own feet” was a phrase I heard in the early part of my ministry. It took a while for me to figure it out. I finally realized that it was a way of saying that everyone is responsible for their own actions. Zephaniah has the same message. Each city in his day was an island to themselves. The walls protected them from others, everyone grew their own food and they worshipped in whatever way suited them. They didn’t need anyone or anybody. Zephaniah is saying that they are going to be destroyed for their sin of neglecting God and worshipping other things. A hard message to hear when you thought you already had everything.

Application to me – Am I an island to myself? Do I count on my own self-sufficiency? This can happen to us in suttle ways. We are happy with what we got and what we can do therefore we do not attempt anything big for God or follow His will for our lives.

Warren Weeks – December 18, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

