Hearts of Stone

Today’s Reading – Ezekiel 35-36

A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you; and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes, and ye shall keep mine ordinances, and do them. And ye shall dwell in the land that I gave to your fathers; and ye shall be my people, and I will be your God. (Ezekiel 36:26-28 ASV)

God promises to turn their hearts of stone into hearts of flesh. Notice the change a new heart brings. The Spirit helps us to obey and remember the ways of God. Is Ezekiel talking about the change that comes when we trust Christ as Saviour? Jesus’ birth is many years away. I think it is a foreshadoing of the coming Messiah.

Application to me – Does my heart still have stone in it? It may not but there are some places that try to be stone-like. I need to let the Spirit continue to change my heart into what it needs to be.

Warren Weeks – Ezekiel 35-36

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

