God Knows Our Heart

Today’s Reading – Jeremiah 42-42

“All right,” Jeremiah replied. “I will pray to the Lord your God, as you have asked, and I will tell you everything he says. I will hide nothing from you.” Then they said to Jeremiah, “May the Lord your God be a faithful witness against us if we refuse to obey whatever he tells us to do! Whether we like it or not, we will obey the Lord our God to whom we are sending you with our plea. For if we obey him, everything will turn out well for us.”
(v. 20-22) For you were not being honest when you sent me to pray to the Lord your God for you. You said, ‘Just tell us what the Lord our God says, and we will do it!’ And today I have told you exactly what he said, but you will not obey the Lord your God any better now than you have in the past. So you can be sure that you will die from war, famine, and disease in Egypt, where you insist on going.” (Jeremiah 42:4-6, 20-22 NLT)

The people asked for God’s direction on what to do. Jeremiah asked God on their behalf. He knew they would not obey. He knew what was in their hearts. They had already planned to go to Egypt abd just wanted God’s blessing.

Application to me – How obedient am I to God’s will for me? Or do I pray for God to just bless my plans? I want to obey God’s will for my life instead of mine.

Warren Weeks – October 5, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

