They Won’t Listen Anyway

Today’s Reading – Jeremiah 37-38

One day King Zedekiah sent for Jeremiah and had him brought to the third entrance of the Lord ’s Temple. “I want to ask you something,” the king said. “And don’t try to hide the truth.” Jeremiah said, “If I tell you the truth, you will kill me. And if I give you advice, you won’t listen to me anyway.” So King Zedekiah secretly promised him, “As surely as the Lord our Creator lives, I will not kill you or hand you over to the men who want you dead.” Then Jeremiah said to Zedekiah, “This is what the Lord God of Heaven’s Armies, the God of Israel, says: ‘If you surrender to the Babylonian officers, you and your family will live, and the city will not be burned down. (Jeremiah 38:14-17 NLT)

King Zedekiah keeps asking Jeremiah for advice hoping that he will tell him what he wants to hear. Jeremiah only told the truth of what God told him to say. He never said anything else even though he knew the consequences. Jeremiah was faithful to his calling to speak the words of God.

Application to me – Would I be as faithful as Jeremiah in the midst of the same circumstances? I hope that I would. Yet, we may not face the same things as Jeremiah, fear does keep us from being faithful. Whether it is to speak to a neighbor about The Lord or stand up for what is right because we fear what people would think. We all have our opportunities to follow God’s call. I am learning to face my fears. I am thankful for what God is teaching me in these areas of my life.

Warren Weeks – October 3, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

