A Person of Influence

Today’s Reading – Jeremiah 15-16

This is how the Lord responds: “If you return to me, I will restore you so you can continue to serve me. If you speak =good words rather than worthless ones, you will be my spokesman. You must influence them; do not let them influence you! They will fight against you like an attacking army, but I will make you as secure as a fortified wall of bronze. They will not conquer you, for I am with you to protect and rescue you. I, the Lord, have spoken! Yes, I will certainly keep you safe from these wicked men. I will rescue you from their cruel hands.” (Jeremiah 15:19-21 NLT)

Jeremiah asked why did his suffering continue since he had done all The Lord had commanded. God told Jeremiah to continue to be faithful through confession of his sin and service. He was also told to be a person of influence and not to be influenced by them. This was Jeremiah’s task, to try and influence the people to turn back to God and to faithfully deliver the messages from God to the people.

Application to me – It is easier to be influenced than to be an influencer. I desire to influence others. It sounds easy. But the only way to do that is to stay close to God in my own relationship to Him and be obedient to what He wants me to do.

Warren Weeks – September 20, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

