Commissioned By God

Today’s Reading – Isaiah 49-50

He said to me, “You are my servant, Israel, and you will bring me glory.” I replied, “But my work seems so useless! I have spent my strength for nothing and to no purpose. Yet I leave it all in the Lord ’s hand; I will trust God for my reward.” And now the Lord speaks— the one who formed me in my mother’s womb to be his servant, who commissioned me to bring Israel back to him. The Lord has honored me, and my God has given me strength. He says, “You will do more than restore the people of Israel to me. I will make you a light to the Gentiles, and you will bring my salvation to the ends of the earth.” (Isaiah 49:3-6 NLT)

We read Isaiah’s call in chapter 6. It is re-affirmed here in chapter 49. Whenever things get difficult or we see no purpose in what we are doing, we can always go back to God’s call on our life. He sees more than we do. Isaiah’s influence was not just on Israel but on the Gentiles as well calling them to The Lord.

Application to me – I sometimes get discouraged. Yet, I can always go back to my call to srve The Lord. It encourages me to continue and to seek Him and His will anew. I am thankful for God’s call on my life.

Warren Weeks – September 2, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

