Far From Doing Right

Today’s Reading – Isaiah 45-46

“Listen to me, you stubborn people who are so far from doing right. For I am ready to set things right, not in the distant future, but right now! I am ready to save Jerusalem and show my glory to Israel. (Isaiah 46:12, 13 NLT)

Now is the time for repentance. Isaiah’s message was that now was the time to repent and get right with God. The punishment he was talking about was not in the distant future but coming now. In the previous chapter he told us that King Cyrus was powerful because he was God’s instrument of judgment. Cyrus’s power came from God not from his own strength and leadership.

Application to me – How quick am I to repent? Do I try to put off my sin to another time? Isaiah’s message reminds me that now is the best time to repent. We don’t know when God’s judgment is coming.

Warren Weeks – August 30, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

