Born to be Wild

Today’s Reading – Isaiah 47-48

“Yes, I will tell you of things that are entirely new, things you never heard of before. For I know so well what traitors you are. You have been rebels from birth. Yet for my own sake and for the honor of my name, I will hold back my anger and not wipe you out. I have refined you, but not as silver is refined. Rather, I have refined you in the furnace of suffering. I will rescue you for my sake— yes, for my own sake! I will not let my reputation be tarnished, and I will not share my glory with idols! (Isaiah 48:8-11 NLT)

Israel we rebels from birth. For the honor of His name, God did not wipe them out. He is a covenant God and was keeping His end of the covenant. God was going to refine them in the furnace of suffering. It is interesting to me that the reason God did not destroy them was because He did not want to tarnish His won reputation.

Application to me – What was Israel’s sin? The worship of idols. Yet, we see a demonstration of God’s love in that He did not destroy them, but demonstrated His love for them. How quickly am I to seek revenge instead of love? That is the lesson for me today.

Warren Weeks – August 31, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

