Two Requests of God

Today’s Reading – Proverbs 29-30

Every word of God proves true. He is a shield to all who come to him for protection. Do not add to his words, or he may rebuke you and expose you as a liar. O God, I beg two favors from you; let me have them before I die. First, help me never to tell a lie. Second, give me neither poverty nor riches! Give me just enough to satisfy my needs. For if I grow rich, I may deny you and say, “Who is the Lord ?” And if I am too poor, I may steal and thus insult God’s holy name. (Proverbs 30:5-9 NLT)

What would you ask God if you had two requests of Him? Agur, the writer of these verses today asked God to help him not be a liar and to not make him rich or poor but to have enough. These were two selfless requests. I don’t know if I ask for the same.  Agur wanted to live a life that pleased God. His requests reflected that. These might have been the two areas in his life that needed the most work. What would you ask God if you had two requests?

Application to me – Putting other first seems to be a goal that I quite never obtain. The more progress you make, the farther you get behind because your selfishness is more exposed. I pray that God would help me to see the needs of one other person today and give me the means to help them.

Warren Weeks – July 22, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

