The Purpose of Proverbs

Today’s Reading – Proverbs 1-2

Their purpose is to teach people wisdom and discipline, to help them understand the insights of the wise. Their purpose is to teach people to live disciplined and successful lives, to help them do what is right, just, and fair. These proverbs will give insight to the simple, knowledge and discernment to the young. (Proverbs 1:2-4 NLT)

Today, i begin reading the book of Proverbs. Although, it is much smaller than Psalms, it is still as intimidating. There is so much to absorb and learn from each chapter. My thought and application each day may be different from yours as you read. I encourage you to leave a comment on what you got from that chapter.

The proverbs begin by telling us their purpose. They are to teach people wisdom and discipline so that they can live disciplined and successful lives. That may not sound like fun but it truly is. The older I get, the more the wise choices I have made seem even wiser. Success is not measured here by money, status or influence but by a life that is pleasing to God and the ability to enjoy the blessings He showers upon us. It is right that the next section deals with teaching these proverbs to children. The younger you begin to apply these principles to your life, the better. Learning to make wise choices when you are young makes it possible for you to see the benefits of wisdom as you get older.

Application to me – How wise am I? I am going to look at these proverbs not to just see how well I am doing in certain areas, but to also discover those blind spots in my application of God’s wisdom to my life. I am looking forward to what God has to teach me in each day’s reading.

Warren Weeks – July 5, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

