A Mighty Fortress Is Our God

Today’s Reading – Psalms 61-62

From the ends of the earth, I cry to you for help when my heart is overwhelmed. Lead me to the towering rock of safety, for you are my safe refuge, a fortress where my enemies cannot reach me. Let me live forever in your sanctuary, safe beneath the shelter of your wings! Interlude (Psalms 61:2-4 NLT)

A Mighty Fortress Is Our God is one of my favorite hymns. Yet I don’t know if the imagery of the fortress is all that meaningful to me. David was a warrior. A fortress to him meant safety, protection and an opportunity to fight again. Like David, I do seek safety, protection and desire to serve God. I am thankful that God still is a frotress for us to run to. He is my safe refuge.

Application to me – Do I seek The Lord as my fortress or trust in myself? Trusting in the Lord’s protection and safety helps me to be bolder and re-evaluate my efforts at protection and be willing to risk more for God.

Warren Weeks – May 14, 2013

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

