Joy In Unrelenting Pain

Today’s Reading – Job 5-6

“Oh, that I might have my request, that God would grant my desire. I wish he would crush me. I wish he would reach out his hand and kill me. At least I can take comfort in this: Despite the pain, I have not denied the words of the Holy One. (Job 6:8-10 NLT)

Eliphaz continues his words to Job to try and understand his plight. Eliphaz is stuck in the thought of his day that if something bad has happened to you, then it must be God’s judgment for something you did wrong. Job had done nothing wrong. That is what troubles him so much. Job wishes for God to crush him now because so far he has not sinned amidst the pain of all that has happened to him. It is difficult to send an end when we are in the middle of a hard time.

Application to me – Job is unable to see the end because the present is so painful. I need to remember that in the midst of things in my life that seem puzzling at times. God still has a purpose in each thing. His strength is sufficient.

Warren Weeks – March 15, 2013

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Joy In Unrelenting Pain

  1. wbcjack

    Amen, take two

Leave a Reply

